How Much Revision Should I Do?

Ah, the unaging question: “How Much Revision Should I Do?”

If you’re looking for a definitive answer to this question, I’m sorry to disappoint, but I can’t tell you exactly how much revision you should do. I’ve heard of people out there doing 8-12 hours of revision a day and personally, I find that ridiculously unhealthy. Revision is important but, doing that much work a day would absolutely destroy me. 

Personally, I can’t work in short blocks of 30 minutes and then have a 10 minute break – checking my phone once leads me into the never ending cycle of youtube which is extremely dangerous. I tend to work in long blocks of time, really getting loads of work done, and then I’ll reward myself with a full hour off in which I do no work what so ever. I’ll play with my dog, watch some videos, go on my laptop but, the crucial thing is you MUST have the self-control to switch off what you are doing when your timer goes off and get back to revision.

IMG_4067
Genuine footage of me in a revision break taking selfies with my doggo… what else would I be doing!?

For me, on a really good day, I can get 6 hours of solid, concentrated, efficient, hardcore revision in. But that’s on a verrrrry good day. Realistically I tend to do about 3-4 hours on an okay day and on a bad day…. well I can do about 1 hour of unconcentrated work whereby I mostly procrastinate by checking my phone every two minutes. It’s all about self-control. Think about rewarding yourself: If I get this piece of homework done, or this many pages of science revised by 1 o’clock, I can watch an episode of Stranger Things.

Make sure you have a revision timetable and to do list at all times – if you set yourself daily goals then you can just revise for as long as it takes you to get everything done – that could be 6 hours of work, or only 1 hour. Being realistic and having balance are the keys here. Overworking yourself will only result in stress but, by the same token, procrastination and not doing enough work will result in you stressing over how much work you have to do. Neither are good.

Ultimately, I’d suggest an average of about 4-7 hours of concentrated revision is a good amount if you have started revising in advance and with plenty of time. If you can do more, that’s great, but just be careful not to wear yourself out – your mental and physical health are far more important than any grade you will achieve in your exams so always keep that in mind.

 

What do you do in your revision breaks? Do you find it hard to stay focused on revision? Let me know in the comments or tweet me!

Leave a Reply

